James Ingram established a newsagency and supplied papers and stationary to diggers on the goldfields in the 1860s. James also helped to establish the Beechworth Hospital and Primary School. He died in 1928 within six weeks of his 100th birthday and lived nearby the rock that now bears his name. Fiddes Quarry was where much of the granite for building was cut during the gold rush era. The Precipice is a lookout above the former Reids Creek goldfields, once full of canvas tents and noisy diggers. Ingram’s Rock is a large granite outcrop and a lovely place to picnic and explore.