Beechworth Historic & Cultural Precinct
The Beechworth Historic and Cultural Precinct is a collection of nationally significant buildings, which tells the local story of how Australia grew and prospered. These buildings played an integral role in the administration of North East Victoria and parts of Southern New South Wales.
The Precinct buildings have been registered by Heritage Victoria, the National Estate, the National Trust and the Indigo Shire Council planning scheme.
Take a step back in time and follow the journey of Beechworth's history, from pioneers looking to strike it rich in the goldfields, to the region's indigenous people, to some of Australia's most notorious bushrangers.
One of Beechworth's most visited attractions, the historic Courthouse is a beautifully preserved living history museum and the site of some of the dramatic events of gold era Australia, including the trial which sealed Ned Kelly's fate. Daily Courthouse tours are available to visitors.
One of Australia's oldest museums, the Museum boasts a fascinating and historically significant collection of more than 30,000 individual items, many dating back to more than 150 years ago and some linked to famous figures of history such as Dame Nellie Melba and Robert O'Hara Burke. Highlights of the extensive collection include Aboriginal weapons and tools, gold mining artefacts, natural history taxidermy displays and the "Street of Shops", a unique recreation of Gold Era Beechworth
Boasting the largest collection of Ned Kelly memorabilia, images and artefacts, this collection and the building it's housed in takes you on a journey to understand the man and the interest his story has generated. The exhibition features "Betty", a rifle used by Ned Kelly, the armour suit worn by Mick Jagger in the move Ned Kelly and a reproduction of the Jerilderie Letter.
Built in 1858, the Telegraph Station, one of a suite of beautifully preserved Gold Era buildings which make up the Precinct, once linked the town to the outside world through the medium of Morse Code.
Built in 1859 and restored by the National Trust in 1966, the Powder Magazine is made of solid, buttressed granite, with a slate roof and surrounded by a high stone wall. The Powder Magazine was used as a storage room for large amounts of gunpowder used in quarrying and mining.
Other key buildings in the precinct include the Police Reserve and stables and the stone and timber lock ups.